The Arizona Winds Announces Plans for 2020-2021

Concert Season Amid Covid-19 Pandemic


            GLENDALE, Ariz. (August 2020) — The Arizona Winds, like every performing arts organization in the world, and every performance venue, is wrestling with how to plan a concert season in the midst of the uncertainty surrounding the Covid-19 pandemic.  In their 45 plus years of entertaining thousands of Arizona fans with their special brand of concerts, the Arizona Winds have faced many challenges, but none that have disrupted their mission of music…until now.

            The Covid-19 pandemic brought live entertainment to a screeching halt back in January causing the Arizona Winds to have to cancel the last three concerts of their 2019-2020 season.  “It was really hard for us to just drop everything we had been working so hard on”, said the band’s Music Director and Conductor Lt. Colonel (Ret.) Rich Shelton.  “We all very much miss making music and we especially miss our wonderful fans” he continued.  “As we look forward to our new season, which would normally have included the start of rehearsals in mid-August in preparation for a late October concert, we are faced with the reality that this virus isn’t giving up without a fight”, said Shelton.  “We want our fans to know we are monitoring the Governor’s Covid recommendations, the medical data, and responses by many other performing arts organizations throughout the state and country, to make informed decisions with the safety and health of our musicians and our patrons as our greatest concern”, he added.

            As a result of the current “Covid-19 climate”, the Arizona Winds has decided to cancel their October concert and reevaluate conditions in early October to determine whether or not it is safe to start rehearsals and plan on moving forward.  “We certainly hope, come October, that we can resume our new season which includes our Christmas concert on December 13th at Midwestern University, and concerts on February 14th, April 11th, and May 23rd”,  said the band’s board president, Ben Davis.  “We do have one very exciting piece of news to share with our fans.  When we do resume our season (after the Christmas concert at Midwestern University), we will be moving our performances to the beautiful 1,300-seat Vista Center for the Arts in Surprise.  This new venue will give our growing fan base a wonderful new concert-going experience in a dedicated performing arts venue.  We can’t be more excited!  We look forward to seeing all of our Arizona Winds friends again just as soon as it is safe”, continued Davis.

            The Arizona Winds will keep everyone informed of future plans for the coming season through every possible information outlet including their website at

During our temporary haitus, please enjoy these recordings from recent past concerts:

High Adventure

by Arizona Winds | Performed May 19, 2019, "High Adventure" concert

Peter Pan

by Arizona Winds | Performed Feb. 9, 2020. “Disney’s Magic World” concert.


by Arizona Winds | Performed Oct. 27, 2019. “Music of the Great American West” concert.


by Arizona Winds | Performed February 9, 2020. “Disney’s Magic World” concert.


by Arizona Winds | Performed Oct. 22, 2017. "SOUSA!" concert.


by Arizona Winds | Performed Oct 27, 2019. "Music of the Great American West"


The Arizona Winds is celebrating its 45th year as a West Valley cultural institution. The band’s musicians, comprised of adults from across the Valley of the Sun and representing numerous professions from music educators to engineers, homemakers to accountants, continue to share their love of music and enrich the lives of audiences throughout the state of Arizona. The Arizona Winds is a 501 C(3) non-profit organization which presents a series of six free concerts each season and depends entirely upon the generous tax-deductible contributions of its patrons to sustain the superior level of performance thousands enjoy each year.

A little bit more about us…

We are an 85-member concert band located in Glendale, Arizona. Conducted by Lt. Col. Richard Shelton, USAF Ret., we are comprised of all ages and backgrounds, and together we make some great music! 

Did you know that you can contribute to The Arizona Winds every time you purchase online at Bookmark this link ( so all your eligible shopping on will benefit The Arizona Winds.